Domain name offer spam emails
Domain Name Offers Via Email
I have just received an unsolicited email from a person purporting to be Dale Stirling of HSBF Internet (hsbf.com) informing me that they have conservatoryfloors.co.uk available for sale and wondering if I was interested.
It always worries me when I receive unsolicited emails for companies who appear to be experts in their field and yet the domain name that they are using to send the spam email from, doesn’t even have a website attached to it, which is the case with HSBF.com. Now, I don’t know Dale Stirling and I have no reason to suspect that there isn’t a perfectly good reason why HSBF Internet doesn’t have a published web site on the URL that they are using, but it did raise my suspicions, ever so slightly.
I mention this as a lead in to explain how to grade the value of a domain name, as HSBF were attempting to flog me the domain name, conservatoryfloors.co.uk. Quite why they thought I would be interested in the conservatory floors domain name, I’m not sure, but such is the randomness of this kind of spam, that I won’t worry about their reasons.
So, conservatoryfloors.co.uk - just how strong a domain name is it? Let’s see.
First of all, I checked the PageRank and the established, incoming links to the site - no links and no PageRank. Not good so far.
I thought it must be fully cached in Google and well established? No, not even in the Google or MSN index and not fully indexed in Yahoo - losing it’s appeal.
It must be a long established name with years of longevity? Nope, conservatoryfloors.co.uk was registered only 6 months ago.
The website itself is well designed, on focus and fully optimised? I’m afraid not. It’s an affiliate site, designed to make money from click-throughs: the very kind of site that Google is trying to keep out of it’s index. Of course, it’s only the domain name that is for sale, but if it is already under a penalty, even the best SEO in the world won’t make it fire up the search engines.
At least it’s a good brand-able name? Afraid not. The conservatoryfloors.com version is already owned by someone else and the hyphened versions, (conservatory-floors.com and conservatory-floors.co.uk) are still available if anyone wants to buy them for as little as £2.59 for a year. If you are going to buy a domain name and build a brand identity in the UK, you need to own the .com and .co.uk version of the name with and without the hyphens. Otherwise, someone can come in with a better optimised site and steal your thunder. Even worse, they could use the domain name as a hate site or a porn site, which wouldn’t do your brand-name any good at all.
To be fair, Dale Stirling of HSBF.com didn’t state how much he wanted for the domain name. He may wish to sell it for five pounds, which is the rough value of the remaining registration, but I suspect he was looking for a tad more than that for it.
Check the value of a domain name before buying
If anyone offers you a domain name for sale, don’t be taken in by a salesman telling you the domain name will automatically give you top spot on the search engines for the related search terms, it simply isn’t true. Judge the value for yourself.
If I sold conservatory floors and this domain was five years old, had an established website, with 150 indexed pages, was PageRank 5, had 500 quality incoming links, lots of front page search engine positions and the other versions of the domain names were available for me to buy, it could be worth from ten thousand pounds to half a million pounds, depending on the turnover that it produced in the past three years.
Sadly, as a domain name that is 6 months old, a poor quality site that may already have been penalised, no PageRank, no links, not indexed, no positions and the three other domain names are either taken or available for peanuts, this isn’t worth any more than the money it would cost if you were the original registrant.
I should state again, the purpose of this article is to point out the value of domain names and not to, in any way, suggest that HSBF are anything but an honest, legitimate company, offering website names at a fair price. After all, the value you of a product is decided on how much a customer is willing to pay for it, not the actual value of the product itself.
4 Responses to “Domain name offer spam emails”
January 25th, 2007 at 10:15 am
Interesting article. HSBF contacted me trying to sell me a similar .co.uk domain name. The domain name was legalstaff.co.uk and like the example you gave in your blog, it has no pagerank, it’s not listed in Google, Yahoo, MSN, DMOZ or the Yahoo Directory and it has no external links pointing to it. On top of that, the .com version of the domain, is live and fully indexed in the search engines. People also own the .org, .net and .info versions of the name. How much did he want for it? £795! Here’s the email I received:
Dear Sirs,
We are selling the domain name LegalStaff.co.uk. This is the very first time since 1996 that this important domain has ever been available on the open market. The domain is currently on sale for just £795 VAT.
Most of our clients are now finding that prime domains such as this pay for themselves within weeks rather than months by virtue of the extra business that they drive to their websites by means of type in traffic and greatly enhanced search engine positions.
Would you like to go ahead with this?
Best regards,
Alan Lawson
HSBF Internet
January 25th, 2007 at 10:18 am
I found a great blog today that mentions HSBF and their email domain name offers. You can find it at You piss me off, you bastard - Mr Angry for the 21st century!
January 25th, 2007 at 10:21 am
I found another blogger who has commented on Mr Lawson and HSBF Internet. You can read the article at: Tim Trent

January 25th, 2007 at 10:17 am
I’ve just been offered build-a-website.co.uk from Alan Hardy at HSBF.com. Similar circumstance to domain name examples given above, he is selling the domain name for
just £475. Surprisingly, this domain name that he has for sale is also the very first time since 1996 this name has ever been available on the market, yet it was registered in April 2006. How is that possible?
I would be interested to know if anyone reading this has bought one of these domain names from Alan Hardy, Dale Stirling, Alan Lawson, or whatever name was used that day.